Monday, December 16, 2013

Review | Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles, #1) by Kresley Cole

13450339Series: The Arcana Chronicles, #1
Pages: 369
Date Released: October 2, 2012

 She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen-year-old Evangeline "Evie" Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they're still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux. But she can't do either alone. With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can't totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him? Who can Evie trust? As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it's not always clear who is on which side.

     This woman is a genius. Poison Princess was a completely unique world of art. It belongs in the Louvre. First of all, the plot. Never have I ever read a book that centered around Tarot cards. In fact, I’ve never even thought about it, which is more than I can say about other books I’ve read. She completed the masterpiece by ensuring that the concept was whole-hardly explained and followed through in every wonderful page.
     I loved Evie. She was the most perfect girl for this story ever. I loved her attitude. She was straightforward, but innocent. She accepted things easily and dealt with them accordingly. It was all cut and dry with her. Except when Jack comes into the picture that is….
     Jack was another one of Kresley’s ideas that hit the nail directly on the head. He’s Cajun. Have you ever heard of such a book boyfriend? I haven’t!! Honestly, though, Jack would have totally pissed me off. He was really a jerk. Sometimes he acted like a little girl, insulting Evie when he couldn’t get his way and pointing out her flaws all the time! And there is this part in the book that really brings me to tears with how badly he hurts her feelings! But, God I loved him.
     Along with those great characters, Kresley also has perfect writing skills. The book is mostly a giant flashback with flashbacks within it. Sounds confusing, doesn’t it? It isn’t though! All the scenes happen perfectly. They all aligned in the right place and cause absolutely no confused like other books that do the same. The translations were simple, too. They added to Jackson’s appeal, by letting me hear his voice and understand at the same time, without taking away from all the action.
     In conclusion, I could spend hours talking about a book this great! Just like a beautiful painting, Poison Princess leaves you guessing along the entire journey. But makes you want to scream when understanding of how marvelous it truly is hits you.

Author Website


Thursday, December 5, 2013

Review & Giveaway | Radiance (Riley Bloom, #1) by Alyson Noel


Series: Riley Bloom
Pages: 183
Date Released: August 31, 2010

Riley has crossed the bridge into the afterlife—a place called Here, where time is always Now. She has picked up life where she left off when she was alive, living with her parents and dog in a nice house in a nice neighborhood. When she’s summoned before The Council, she learns that the afterlife isn’t just an eternity of leisure. She’s been assigned a job, Soul Catcher, and a teacher, Bodhi, a possibly cute, seemingly nerdy boy who’s definitely hiding something. They return to earth together for Riley’s first assignment, a Radiant Boy who’s been haunting a castle in England for centuries. Many Soul Catchers have tried to get him to cross the bridge and failed. But all of that was before he met Riley . . .

With only 183 pages, this book was the complete definition of the quick read. However, the entire ride was very enjoyable. Riley started the book as the worst little brat, honestly. She was completely ungrateful of everything being presented to her. As the book goes along, she grows incredibly quickly as she learns that she her own person. She is not defined by Ever and she will never be just Ever's little sister, but so much more. Her skills grow with her awesome guide, Bodhi, which I think will develop into a cute, little romance as the series goes on. 
For some reason, I thought this book was more young adult than it actually was. It has more of a middle grade feel, which was quite obvious with the characters being 12 and 14. For this reason, I don't think I will continue this series, regardless of how much I enjoyed Riley.

The giveaway will end on December 31, 2013 at 11:59 PM.

Monday, December 2, 2013

Review | Bad Girls Don't Die (Bad Girls Don't Die, #1) by Katie Alender

Series: Bad Girls Don't Die
Pages: 352
Date Released: 2009
     When Alexis's little sister Kasey becomes obsessed with an antique doll, Alexis thinks she is just being her usual weird self. Things get weirder, though, when their house starts changing. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner blasts cold air. Kasey is changing, too. Her blue eyes go green, she starts using old-fashioned language, and she forgets chunks of time. Most disturbing of all is the dangerous new chip on Kasey's shoulder. The formerly gentle child is gone, and the new Kasey is angry. Alexis is the only one who can stop her sister -- but what if that green-eyed girl isn't even Kasey anymore?

     As you can tell from my blog, I have been in the worst reading slump in my entire life. This year has been an absolute fail with me only reading less than 60 books! That's unheard of for me! Anyway, Bad Girls Don't Die may have risen me from the cemetery of bad books. I liked and disliked Alexis. She was kinda hypocritical. She had opinions about everybody acting like someone they're not, when she was doing the exact same thing. I had an awesome time watching her grow though. I loved her personality of individuality. She was just too quick to judge people.
     Kasey was also a wonderful character. She was a bit....eccentric for a normal thirteen-year old, but normal is overrated anyway. She really felt like nobody liked her which is why she was so susceptible to being possesseed. Her "visitor" was very scary and creepy. I couldn't imagine being in Alexis's shoes.
     The main thing that made this book so awesome was the writing. Katie was incredibly detailed and vivid in her descriptions. She made me feel like I was a fly on the wall during every chapter, getting a firsthand view of everything going on! The action was never-ending, too. The ghost stirred up some major trouble and the plot thickens with every turn of the pages. I loved the complex back story that came out as the story went on. All in all, my expectations went out of the window with this book and I hope to have them flee again when I read the sequels!

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

WoW | The Lonesome Young by Lucy Connors

Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: April 15, 2014

Get swept away in the first book of the sensational romantic drama that is Romeo & Juliet meets Justified. WHAT HAPPENS when the teenage heirs of two bitterly FEUDING FAMILIES can’t stay away from each other? The Rhodales and the Whitfields have been sworn enemies for close on a hundred years, with a whole slew of adulterous affairs, financial backstabbing, and blackmailing that’s escalated the rivalry to its current state of tense ceasefire. IT’S TIME TO LIGHT THE FUSE . . . And now a meth lab explosion in rural Whitfield County is set to reignite the feud more viciously than ever before. Especially when the toxic fire that results throws together two unlikely spectators—proper good girl Victoria Whitfield, exiled from boarding school after her father’s real estate business melts down in disgrace, and town motorcycle rebel Mickey Rhodale, too late as always to thwart his older brothers’ dangerous drug deals. Victoria and Mickey are about to find out the most passionate romances are the forbidden ones.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

WoW | Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Waiting on Wednesday

Date Released/Releasing: May 13, 2014 

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.
Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

WoW | To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Waiting on Wednesday

Date Released/Releasing: April 22, 2014 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters…

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

WoW | Learning not to drown. by Anna Shinoda

Learning Not to Drown
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: April 1, 2014

There is a pecking order to every family. Seventeen-year old Clare is the overprotected baby; Peter is the typical, rebellious middle child; and Luke is the-can't-do wrong favorite. To their mother, they are a normal, happy family. And then there are the roles we give ourselves. Clare: the ambitious striver; Peter: the angry ticking time bomb; and Luke: a drug addicted, convicted felon who has been in and out of jail for as long as Clare can remember. To Clare, they are a family on the verge of disaster. Clare has long refused to believe her brother is truly bad...he dotes her, doesn't he? But as Clare starts piecing together the truth about her brother's stints in jail, it starts changing the way she thinks about him. It has also changes the way the community views the family. The only thing it hasn't changed is the way their mother feels about Luke. Each time she welcomes him home with open arms and brushes off his crimes as "wrong place and wrong time," Clare can feel a little piece of her happy home life being taken away. And when her mother does the unthinkable--takes Clare's hard-earned college savings to post bail for Luke's latest transgression--Clare has to decide if sticking up for herself and her future means selfishly turning her back on family...or if it's the only way to keep herself from drowning along with them.

Debut novelist Anna Shinoda's raw, gritty, powerful novel cuts right to the bone and brings to life the skeletons the lurk in the closet.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

WoW | Dangerous by Shannon Hale

Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: April 1, 2014

Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There's no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

From NY Times bestselling author Shannon Hale comes a novel that asks, How far would you go to save the ones you love? And how far would you go to save everyone else?

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Review | Look For Me By Moonlight by Mary Downing Hahn

9524535Series: N/A
Pages: 198
Date Released: March 1, 1997

     When the mysterious Vincent Morthanos arrives to stay at her father's inn, 16-year-old Cynda is mesmerized. His charm and sensitivity are irresistible. His attentiveness is constant. Cynda's sure she's in love. Daring to hope that the stranger shares her feelings, Cynda is innocently blind to who he really is--or to the terrible danger of coming under his spell.
     For some reason, I expected this to be a romance. I was horribly mistaken. This was a thriller. My heart is still beating fast. I hated Cynda at first because she was so easily captivated by Vincent. The fact that he looked thirty was also quite uncomfortable I and did not earn her any cool points. I was also extremely angry at how unsupportive her parents were throughout the book despite them being under Vincent’s influence also. I loved the Todd and Ebony the best because they saw Vincent for what he was from the beginning. Will was a favorite too because he remained unconvinced no matter how much Vincent complimented his artistry. The ending of LFMBM was an example of wonderful writing! The words flew off the page and I felt so sorry for Cynda and Todd as they struggled to get out of the clutches of that monster. The action was great. The writing was great. The characters were great. Everything, I mean everything, was great.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

WoW | Burn Out by Kristi Helvig

Burn Out
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: April 8, 2014

A futuristic blend of Beth Revis's Across the Universe and Lenore Appelhans's Level 2, Burn Out will satisfy the growing desire for science fiction with a thrilling story of survival, intrigue, and adventure. 

Most people want to save the world; seventeen-year-old Tora Reynolds just wants to get the hell off of it. One of the last survivors in Earth's final years, Tora yearns to escape the wasteland her planet has become after the sun turns "red giant," but discovers her fellow survivors are even deadlier than the hostile environment.

Holed up in an underground shelter, Tora is alone--her brilliant scientist father murdered, her mother and sister burned to death. She dreams of living on a planet with oceans, plants, and animals. Unfortunately, the oceans dried out ages ago, the only plants are giant cacti with deadly spines, and her pet, Trigger, is a gun--one of the bio-energetic weapons her father created for the government before his conscience kicked in. 

When family friend, Markus, arrives with mercenaries to take the weapons by force, Tora's fury turns to fear when government ships descend in an attempt to kill them all. She forges an unlikely alliance with Markus and his rag-tag group of raiders, including a smart but quiet soldier named James. Tora must figure out who she can trust in order to save humanity from the most lethal weapons in existence.

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Review | Take Me Now (Take Me Now, #1) by Faith Sullivan

18132823 Series: Take Me Now

Pages: 111

Date Released: July 16, 2013


How do you survive the internship from hell?
Don't fall in love.
Ivy thought being a reporter-in-training at the Independent Gazette would be her dream summer job. Little did she know, interviewing Eric, a landscaper with a heart of gold, would derail her plans. It turns out Ivy's boss, Lauren, has been eying his chiseled physique for quite some time.
But at twenty-four, Eric already has a tragic past, one that he is still reeling from. Even though his ordeal turned him into some sort of local celebrity, it's been a while since he's shared his bed with anyone. When he comes to Ivy's rescue out of the blue, it's not long before the two of them start seeing each other behind Lauren's back. When they get caught, Ivy's journey toward a college degree is jeopardized and her relationship with Eric is severely put to the test.
Career versus love? In the end, a shocking turn of events provides Ivy with a revelation she never saw coming.

     Take Me Now was certainly not what I expected. It was…..unique. First off, the characters. I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I loved them or hated them. It was probably both. I hated Ivy because she acted like a child at certain times, like letting a cute boy fuddle her mind like she was in middle school and taking all the crap that she did from Lauren. I loved her because she was so realistic for the same reasons. Sometimes boys do happen to make you act crazy even when you know that you are being stupid and Ivy acknowledged it. Also standing up to someone who had so much power over her career would not be so easy. Sometimes she dealt with stuff in ways that would make me frown, but all in all I could appreciate her naivety and her determination to grow up and learn from her mistakes.
     Eric was an awesome love interest. He had a hard life and was more mature than Ivy in a good way, but not in all ways. Sometimes, he blew stuff way out of proportion and overreacted. I still loved him because of his honesty and realistic qualities.
     Take Me Now’s aforementioned uniqueness came from its startling pace within the book and all the twists and turns. The supporting characters were truly psychotic and crazy in ways that were weirdly appealing. They brought drama to the book like I've never read and kept me on my toes while I was reading. This was the icing on the cake and led to a delightful ending and new beginning for Ivy and Eric.

*This book was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

WoW | Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

Nearly Gone
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: March 25, 2014

Nearly Boswell knows how to keep secrets. Living in a DC trailer park, she knows better than to share anything that would make her a target with her classmates. Like her mother's job as an exotic dancer, her obsession with the personal ads, and especially the emotions she can taste when she brushes against someone's skin. But when a serial killer goes on a killing spree and starts attacking students, leaving cryptic ads in the newspaper that only Nearly can decipher, she confides in the one person she shouldn't trust: the new guy at school—a reformed bad boy working undercover for the police, doing surveillance. . . on her.

Nearly might be the one person who can put all the clues together, and if she doesn't figure it all out soon—she'll be next.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Review | Article 5 (Article 5, #1) by Kristen Simmons

10677277Series: Article 5
Pages: 364
Date released: January 31, 2012


New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.
   The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes. There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse.    People who get arrested usually don't come back.
   Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it's hard for her to forget that people weren't always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It's hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.
   Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.
   That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.

     Article 5 was book written for all the action lovers out there. It’s Mission Impossible on paper! It reminded me very much of Shatter Me. The characters, setting, and plot were all very similar, but uniquely executed. Ember was awesome. She was strong in her own way, but she valued the place that others had in her life. She was logical and reasonable, but when she was taken she never stopped fighting to get away. Her spirit was continuously going even when things were at rock bottom.
     Chase was nice, too. He was the strong but silent type and he sacrificed everything for Ember. She really was his everything. I liked his smart mouth and how he had some sarcasm behind his silence. His golden brown skin and 6”2’ stature certainly didn’t hurt either. He is still kind of a mystery right now though since this book doesn’t delve into much about him being a soldier. I wonder if any of the other books will as the series continues.
     By the time I flipped Article 5 closed I felt a deep-set satisfaction of them being okay and putting their talents to use. Because of this, I don’t know if I will read the next books in fear of ruining my happy ending. But…(Levar Burton voice) you don’t have to take my word for it.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

WoW | The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle

The Edge of Falling
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: March 18, 2014

Growing up in privileged, Manhattan social circles, Caggie’s life should be perfect, and it almost was until the day that her younger sister drowned when Caggie was supposed to be watching her. Stricken by grief, Caggie pulls away from her friends and family, only to have everyone misinterpret a crucial moment when she supposedly saves a fellow classmate from suicide. Now she’s famous for something she didn’t do and everyone lauds her as a hero. But inside she still blames herself for the death of her sister and continues to pull away from everything in her life, best friend and perfect boyfriend included. Then Caggie meets Astor, the new boy at school, about whom rumours are swirling and known facts are few. In Astor she finds someone who just might understand her pain, because he has an inner pain of his own. But the more Caggie pulls away from her former life to be with Astor, the more she realises that his pain might be darker, and deeper, than anything she’s ever felt. His pain might be enough to end his life…and Caggie’s as well.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

WoW | All That Glows by Ryan Graudin

All That Glows
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: February 11, 2014

Emrys—a fiery, red-headed Fae—always embraced her life in the Highlands, far from the city’s draining technology, until she’s sent to London to rejoin the Faery Guard. But this isn’t any normal assignment—she’s sent to guard Prince Richard: Britain’s notorious, partying bad boy and soon-to-be King. The prince’s careless ways and royal blood make him the irresistible for the dark spirits that feed on mortals. Sweet, disheveled, and alive with adventure—Richard is one charge who will put Emrys’s magic and heart to the test.

When an ancient force begins preying on the monarchy, Emrys must hunt through the London’s magical underworld, facing down Banshees, Black Dogs and Green Women to find the one who threatens Richard’s life. In this chaos of dark magic, palace murders and paparazzi, Emrys finds herself facing an impossible choice. For despite all her powers, Emrys has discovered a force that burns brighter than magic: love.

Review | Aurelia (Aurelia, #1) by Anne Osterlund

2420340Series: Aurelia
Pages: 246
Date Released: April 17, 2008

   An impressive debut, equal parts commercial appeal and literary prowess.Princess Aurelia is next in line to rule the kingdom of Tyralt, but she would rather be one of the common folk, free to learn and roam and . . . not marry the next tyrannical prince that comes courting. Naturally, the king wants Aurelia to marry for political power. Aurelia wants to marry for love. And someone in the kingdom wants her . . . dead. Assigned to investigate and protect Aurelia is Robert, the son of the king's former royal spy and one of Aurelia's oldest friends. As Aurelia and Robert slowly uncover clues as to who is threatening her, their friendship turns to romance. With everything possible on the line, her life, her kingdom, her heart, Aurelia is forced to take matters into her own hands, no matter the cost.
    Aurelia was a wonderful historical masterpiece. I loved the time and how it was described. Aurelia was very headstrong and feisty. I liked her from the start. She spoke her mind and didn't let anyone walk all over her. She really loved her kingdom and the people loved her as well. Robert was a great love interest because he did not seek to bury Aurelia’s independent qualities. He let her flourish and she loved him for it.

     I absolutely hated her father. He was so neglectful and didn’t even seek to bring punishment on the one who was trying to off Aurelia! He truly chose someone else over Aurelia. I was so angry at him for hurting Aurelia like that, but happy when she handled it gracefully and carried on like the Queen she was.
     Aurelia held a great mystery and an even greater group of characters. It truly put me right beside Aurelia as she went through her days and I cannot wait until I am able to see her again.

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

WoW | Minders by Michele Jaffe

Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: January 30, 2014

A high concept, cinematic read with a surprising twist,MINDERS asks the question: who is really watching who?

Q: If the boy you love commits a crime, would you turn him in?

Sadie Ames is a type-A teenager from the wealthy suburbs. She's been accepted to the prestigious Mind Corps Fellowship program, where she'll spend six weeks as an observer inside the head of Ford, a troubled boy with a passion for the crumbling architecture of the inner city. There's just one problem: Sadie's fallen in love with him.

Q: What if the crime is murder?

Ford Winters is haunted by the murder of his older brother, James. As Sadie falls deeper into his world, dazzled by the shimmering pinpricks of color that form images in his mind, she begins to think she knows him. Then Ford does something unthinkable.

Q: What if you saw it happen from inside his mind?

Back in her own body, Sadie is faced with the ultimate dilemma. With Ford's life in her hands, she must decide what is right and what is wrong. And how well she can really ever know someone, even someone she loves.

Review | The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

The Catastrophic History of You and Me

Series: N/A
Pages: 375
Date Released: February 21, 2012

Summary: Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning.... Welcome to forever. 

    BRIE'S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn't love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally. But now that she's D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there's Patrick, Brie's mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.      With Patrick's help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she's ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

The Catastrophic History of You And Me

     THE CATASTROPHIC HISTORY OF YOU AND ME was a uniquely written story of a girl and her journey through death. The main character was Brie, who supposedly died of a broken heart (literally), but unfortunately, I din't like her too much. She was wishy-washy and quick to fling her problems with others onto people who were just trying to help her. She went way overboard with her revenge and didn't seem to know when to stop. She was really out to ruin people's lives. My favorite character was Patrick. He was
  very well-developed and funny. He was always coming up with new nicknames to call Brie and his story was very mysterious and made me want to read more. In my opinion TCHOYAM could have been a five star book, but I felt it could have done without all the drama and the drama queen of a protagonist. I could have felt sorrier for Brie if she wasn't such a mean person. All in all, it was a decent, somewhat lighthearted read about the most unknown thing in life: death.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

WoW | These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)
Waiting on Wednesday
Hosted by Breaking the Spine

Date Released/Releasing: December 10, 2013

It's a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. 

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. 

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

The first in a sweeping science fiction trilogy, These Broken Stars is a timeless love story about hope and survival in the face of unthinkable odds.

Review | Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Going Too Far

Series: N/A
Pages: 245
Date Released: March 17, 2009
All Meg has ever wanted is to get away. Away from high school. Away from her backwater town. Away from her parents who seem determined to keep her imprisoned in their dead-end lives. But one crazy evening involving a dare and forbidden railroad tracks, she goes way too far...and almost doesn't make it back.
John made a choice to stay. To enforce the rules. To serve and protect. He has nothing but contempt for what he sees as childish rebellion, and he wants to teach Meg a lesson she won't soon forget. But Meg pushes him to the limit by questioning everything he learned at the police academy. And when he pushes back, demanding to know why she won't be tied down, they will drive each other to the edge -- and over....
     I started this book an hour and a half ago. Literally. No exaggerating at all. I am a huge fan of Jennifer and I loved Such A Rush, which was the first book of hers that I read. Going Too Far was exactly on par with Jennifer's expertise and excellence. I loved, loved, loved Meg. She was a bad girl and not that I've never read about other bad girls, she just stood out. She had reasons for her being a bad girl. She struggled with her panic attacks and she didn't feel that it made her weak. She wasn't doing it to get back at her parents. She did it for herself, to live. I loved all her twists and turns because I didn't find out the clear answer until the middle ending of the book and it was totally not what I expected. I was so surprised! But I loved it.
     I am also a big fan of John, too. Although, I couldn't find anyone who wouldn't be. His Matt Damon body and sleepy brown eyes? No one is immune. I loved him from the start because of how he treated Tiffany at the beginning and shook off Meg's insults. He was deep and his story was also more complex than I originally thought. He was obsessed with the bridge, which I thought was totally loony-toon until I understood the full severity of its importance.
     Going Too Far totally exceed all my expectations and had me giggling all the while at Meg's antics and Johnafter's cop humor. I enjoyed the wild journey from beginning to end and cannot wait to recommend them to my best friend.

Monday, July 29, 2013

BGBR Read-A-Thon Progress

This page will hold my progress as I go through the readathon. 

 Began: 2:50 PM
Ended: 3:50 PM
{Review Written}

Began: 4:30 PM
Ended: 5:30 PM
{Review Written}

Began: 9:07 PM
Ended: 10:22 PM
{Review Written}

{End Day 1}
Began: 12:15 PM
Ended: 2:05 PM
{Review Written}

{End Day 2}
Began: 3:27 AM

{End BGBR Read-A-Thon}
Well, that's it! I din't reach my goal, but I could have if I didn't have to go somewhere yesterday. I had fun and I enjoyed all of the books and the feeling of accomplishment I got from finishing a book. I am still reading Burn for Burn and it's getting good. Thanks for watching me and silently cheering me on!!!
back to top