Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1) by Jamie McGuire

     Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University's Walking One-Night Stand.
     Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.
                               Optimized-Twinky_BabyValentine_Paper12(1)
Beautiful Disaster is one of the best books I’ve read in a LONG time. It was everything I could ever wish for. My best friend and I, unknowingly bought the book at the same time. We decided to read it together. This was a first and it was awesome having someone to gush over Travis with.
Abby was a great character. She was running from her past and starting over at college. She was horribly oblivious to Travis and his advances, even as he fell in love with her. She was strong-willed and stood out. It was her resilience that attracted Travis to her. Travis was the ultimate bad boy. He drove a motorcycle, had tattoos, and even a reputation as a knock-out cage fighter. He was a bad boy without trying to be. He was intense. Anything he did, he did to the max as he did with Abby. He was possessive and hot-headed and just the most imperfect perfect boy ever. Their relationship was not without its bumps and bruises. They fought a lot and Travis was very overwhelming. At some points, I wanted to put the book down because it was TOO much drama, but Jamie had already gotten me too hooked to stop. Beautiful Disaster lived up to its name and was visibly and literally beautiful. It brought my best friend and I closer together and gained at least two solid and forever fans.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Kissing Tennessee by Kathi Appelt

Mason and Carrie Marie can't get up the courage to ask each other to dance. Russ's girlfriend has died, and now he's just trying to live without her. Peggy Lee has grown up with Tennessee--how can she ever think of him as more than a friend?

In these moving tales and others, Kathi Appelt captures the sometimes amusing, sometimes touching missteps of some unforgettable students, who come together one last time for the most memorable night of their young lives.

     Kissing Tennessee was a compilation of stories all revolving around the events of the Stardust Dance. All the stories are told from different points of view and all having their own essential purpose. They all hold the sort of wistfulness that you feel when talking about the past whether it be good or bad. The book also has no off limit subjects. A boy struggling with The Question of his sexuality. Sisters who want to be teenagers with a father who thinks lipstick makes you a Jezebel. The book both begins and ends with a poem that both entertains and brings you to the heart and gently lets you go. This book was a quick read, but memorable all the way through.
  


Saturday, September 1, 2012

Cover Reveal: Perception by Lee Strauss

Blurb: Seventeen year old Zoe Vanderveen is a GAP—a genetically altered person. She lives in the security of a walled city on prime water-front property along side other equally beautiful people with extended life spans.

Her brother Liam is missing.

Noah Brody is a natural who lives on the outside. He leads protests against the GAPs and detests the widening chasm they’ve created between those who have and those who don’t. He doesn’t like girls like Zoe and he has good reason not to like her specifically.

Zoe’s carefree life takes a traumatic turn.  She’s in trouble and it turns out that Noah, the last guy on earth she should trust, is the only one who can help her.

Author's Note: PERCEPTION is a ( SF/mystery/romance) Young Adult novel that takes place in the not too distant future in a world changed by climate extremes, natural disasters and impending wars, and where scientific breakthroughs cause class divisions—both financially and philosophically.  It explores the clash between faith and science and how differences can separate us as enemies or alliance us together. And in some cases, even in the midst of betrayal and personal crisis, there’s room to fall in love.This is the first book in a planned three book series. 

Releasing On September 12th, 2012

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Love Notes (2)

Love Notes is a new meme here on the blog that features sweet, cute, and sexy quotes from YA books.

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)"You like being chased by armed troops?" He moved his hands over his tanned skin, wiping the rainwater from his arms, his shoulders, and his chest. "Is that your idea of fun?" "Just forget it." Caleb popped open a can of brown mush. "Or ..." he began, licking the lid clean. "Were you smiling at me?"

 
“Mmm.” He moaned, having not even touched me yet. “What?” I asked, muffled by the poofy pillow. “Oh, nothing. It’s just that you’ve got quite a nice little—“ I flipped to my side, glaring hard. He put up his hands. “Sorry! A guy can’t help but notice. Truly—best behavior—starting now.”


He pulled his lips just far enough away to speak. “What time will Patti be calling?” I managed a glimpse at the clock, feeling his mouth on my collarbone. “Not for an hour,” I whispered. “That simply is not going to be enough time.”

When I looked again my eyes landed on his bare behind. Dear God! I screamed and buried my face in my pillow. “What?!” I heard him ask. “Did you see a roach?” “Why are you naked?!” I did not dare lift my red face. “Huh. Is that all?” he asked. “I always sleep in the buff. I don’t know how you can stand all that clothing.”

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

“So why won’t you tell me your name?” He leans forward and I freeze. I thaw. I melt. “Juliette, “ I whisper. “My name is Juliette.” His lips soften into a smile that cracks apart my spine. He repeats my name like the word amuses him. Entertains him. Delights him. In 17 years no one has said my name like that.



Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Review | The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

    Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she'll never have the chance. So when she's told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine--a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur--like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe--in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.
   
    *Shakes Head* *Sighs* The Probability of Miracles is a hard hitter in every possible way. It targets your heart and your head. First off, Campbell has cancer, the big C. She has just been told that there is nothing else that the doctors can do for her. But Cam doesn't dwell on that because she's way too good for that. She's just found a list from her past in her glove compartment and she's going to finish it. While reading the book, after what Cam just found out, you can't help but be a little melancholy....  Rest assured though because you won't stay that way for long. If there is one thing about Cam, she's hilarious. She has a carefree, whatever, attitude that you can't help, but laugh at.

"Yup. That happens. Next time you see that, grab a tongue depressor so a person doesn't swallow her tongue. Mind if I take the flamingo?"
"It's $2.89."
"Whoa, Darren, you drive a hard bargain. How about I'm just going to take it?"
Cam grabbed the flamingo and threw it into the backseat, started the Beetle and peeled out of the parking lot.  
    See what I mean? Of course, Cam isn't all perfect. She is quite cynical and hopeless. She doesn't believe in miracles or love or anything good in the world. She doesn't even believe in Disney World! Without giving too much away, the place she goes to is full of miracles, but it takes Cam to be able to see that she is the miracle. Walking around stealing donkeys and growing gardens and all the while leaving everyone with something to remember her by. She inspires miracles when she only came to receive one.
     Spoiler (Highlight to read): I usually don't read books with dying in them. I have sensitive emotions and endless tear ducts, not a good combination. There's always this hope that you know that there's going to be a HEA in most books. Cam is going to live, you think. Miracles happen in Promise, Maine.... But she doesn't. And you're sad, but the ending is so.....so final that you can't cry. You realize that the climaxes happened in the middle of the book and now....it's just right. Cam is better there. 

Read An Excerpt



Monday, July 30, 2012

Mini Review | Snow in Love by Claire Ray


Welcome to Alaska! A special welcome to my boyfriend, Jake, the cutest tourist I've ever met. Explore our natural beauties and untouched wilderness.Jake and I like to hike our great (romantic ) nature trails. Enjoy our perfect skiing and snowboarding conditions. Be sure to catch Will Parker doing his snowboarding tricks. He makes all the girls in town melt. (Except for me. Who needs Will when you've got Jake?) Experience our world-class resorts and spas. While you're there, find out what's up with that hot girl Jake brought to the lodge this year. She's probably just his cousin or something. Right? Get ready for a vacation you'll never forget.

     Snow in Love was a cute little read that would be perfect for any time of the year. The characters were full of depth and very funny. The main character was not very likable to me though. She was very naive and gullible and blind to what was right in front of her. She let everything affect her badly and used ice cream as a buffer for her problems. Will, on the other hand, was so sweet and confident. He was kind of too good for Jessie. All in all, I liked it as a whole, but looking back, some parts have serious issues. 

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Book Exchange/In My Mailbox (7/25/12)

 
Hey you guys! I just got back from vacation (Orange Beach, Alabama) and I have lots of new books! I also want to show you guys this awesome used bookstore I went to!

                              
                                
I went to the Book Exchange in Foley, Alabama! It was way cool and the first time I've ever been to a used book store.
(click to enlarge)
I loved it and it smelled like old books (yum) so if you're ever there, check it out! They have awesome prices and they're even better if you exchange some books like I did! 

Now onto the books!
Snow in Love by Claire Ray (already read, cute and funny)
Fat Vampire by Adam Rex
General Winston's Daughter by Sharon Shinn
Corsets & Clockwork by Trisha Telep
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
The Mystery at Lilac Inn by Carolyn Keene
Sweep (Volume II) by Cate Tiernan
Killing Britney by Sean Olin
Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr
The Den of Shadows Quartet by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
Teen Ink: Love and Relationships by Stephanie H. Meyer
The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Emma by Jane Austen
The Hitchhiker by R.L. Stine
Vampire Knight by Matsuri Hino (A manga for my friend, Jessica. Hi, Jessie! I miss you! *smooch*)
Ghost Girl (Ghost Girl, #1) by Tonya Hurley
The Teen Study Bible (New International Version)
 Hourglass by Myra McEntire
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder (reading this now and it is GOOD!)
Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Well that's it! School will be starting soon and frankly, I'm not sad. I'm bored and ready to go back. I miss my friends, the routine, and being productive. I hope your vacation was as wonderful as mine!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Review | I Was Jane Austen's Best Friend by Cora Harrison


I Was Jane Austen's Best FriendWhen shy Jenny Cooper goes to stay with her cousin Jane Austen, she knows nothing of the world that Jane inhabits. At 15, Jane is already a sharp observer of the customs of courtship. So when Jenny falls in love, who better than Jane to help her?
     I Was Jane Austen's Best Friend took me a long time to get through. It was kind of draggy and it was only once in a while that it hit actual parts of interest. Strangely I didn't mind this. It was a comfortable read that didn't make me have a heart attack of excitement, but it sat there and I liked it. Like donuts, I don't get excited over them, but I like them just the same. The best part of the book was the authenticity. The time period is very well written and intricate. The author's note at the end  how much time Harrison put into the book as she explains the origins of the plot. The passion flows through her voice and shines through the book.


Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1) by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

     Sweet Evil was a devilishly sweet read, absolutely no pun intended. Okay, maybe a little. The book starts off well, introducing Anna and Jay, her best friend. I can tell from the start that I would LOVE Anna. She reminds me of me. Uncomfortable in tight skirts and surprised when a boy actually approaches her. It is in the first few pages of the book that Anna gets her first glimpse of Kaiden (Ky-den, awesome name, isn’t it?) He is hot to her and his aura is strangely different than others. That’s not the only thing that strange, though, he wants to know who she is literally. At this point, this means nothing to Kaiden. As time progress, she is convinced that he knows something about her and she wants to know what. Anna is funny and quirky. She’s sensitive about a freckle, which everyone else calls a beauty mark. She is just a normal girl. Except that her mother was an angel and her father is a Duke. The Duke of Substance Abuse, that is. Anna struggles with avoiding these things and never, ever drinks. Oh! The story is just filled with special things that make each character special. That definitely added so much the book. The characters have so much depth. As Anna’s journey progress on, she gains so many friends that remind me of a Devil’s children Breakfast Club. They seem so normal and fun. Anna and Kaiden’s relationship is bumpy because she can’t understand why he doesn’t want to be with her, even in secret. Her relationship with her father is envious, especially to me, he seems great. What can I say? The book is one in a million. Now, to get the other one.
back to top