Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy, #1) by Jennifer Estep

My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy — a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody's head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest. But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I'm determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why—especially since I should have been the one who died. . .

Glitter Text -

Touch of Frost was one of the books I found while reading a My Book Boyfriend post. I think that Touch of Frost was bittersweet in my opinion. Gwen is a wonderful female character. She is so funny and quirky. I loved her instantly. She does so much growing in the book and makes me so proud. She discovers her reason for being at Mythos and solves a murder, making friends along the way.  The only part of the book that I didn't like was the love interest, Logan. He was hot and they had great chemistry, but throughout the book, I found myself wishing he was around more. I did hate him by the end of the book because of his "protective behavior." I don't want to spoil anything, but he is another Edward. SMH. Go get this book!

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Seeing Reading

Seeing Reading
How I See Reading & How I Think Non-Readers See It 

How I See Reading
To me, reading is the most wonderful thing in the world. I can't explain how it makes me feel. Let's start from the beginning. The sight of books make my heart beat faster. I LOVE the smell of libraries and the feel on pages. Covers that feel soft and raised letters for the title are the best. When I crack open the first page and read the first word, I always imagine a vortex, swirling and me yelling in delight as I am sucked into another world. The anticipation of what's happening next, the feel of fear I have when something bad happens to a character. Truthfully and wholeheartedly, books are my lifeline. They're how I go all around the world without leaving my seat, how I live the most exciting life until I am of age to actually live out loud. 

How I Think Other (non-readers) See Reading
I think the reason others see reading the way they do is psychological. In the same way they label someone a nerd or outcast without giving them a chance is the same way they treat books. They go by the popular vote, it may not be right, but it is the majority. I, among anyone, knows how hard it is to avoid the status quo. This is the reason I don't feel offended at the crazed looks I get because I spend my birthdays at bookstores.

That's my view, people! How do you see reading?

Monday, February 27, 2012

ARC Review: Melody Burning by Whitley Strieber

Beresford doesn’t remember much about his past or how he came to live in the chutes and crawl spaces of the posh high-rise that shares his name. But when rock star and teen sensation Melody McGrath moves to an apartment on the fiftieth floor, he knows he has to be near her. Although she doesn’t realize it, Melody is threatened by more dangerous forces than her manipulative stage mom and the pressures of life in the spotlight. The owner of the glamorous building has been hiding a fatal secret within its walls, and Beresford puts all his plans at risk. Will Beresford and Melody be able to escape with their lives (and love) intact?

Glitter Text -

I honestly don't know what I take from Melody Burning. It was crazy! The story, the plot, the characters, they were all over the place! Somehow though it all tied together nicely. It was just something about it that made me at least think of it for a while and good books make you think. Melody is a nice girl under too much pressure from people, mostly and especially her mother, I felt sorry for her. Beresford's story was sad also and his voice was adorably innocent. The building is all he knows, making him have hardly no tactic about things. Strieber did an excellent job of developing his character. Together, he and Melody are a whirlwind of love and preciousness. Making the ending satisfying and cute!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, 1) by Laini Taylor

     Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out. When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Glitter Text -  I had so many expectations for Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I can't tell you how hyped up I was after reading thousands of raving reviews. Sad to say that, it was not my cup of tea. It seemed that I couldn't get hooked on the book anywhere. Karou is a wonderful character and she is....likable, but her voice just couldn't pull me in. The book was not lacking in descriptions, beautiful descriptive passages, but sometimes they seemed overwhelming and too much. I was constantly told how beautiful Akiva was and it was annoying. The story seemed to be all over the place to me and sometimes I found myself flipping pages because I had gotten bored. As a result, I don't think I'll be buying the sequel to this book when it comes out. Try it out, though, you may like it.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Earn Points, Get Books | Random Buzzers

I just recently became an Ambuzzador, which is this really cool reviewing program they have going on and I realized that not many people talk about Random Buzzers so I decided tell people about its awesome-ness.

What is Random Buzzers?
Random Buzzers is this wonderful teen book site ran by Random House Publishers. It has tons of stuff going on like featured authors and book sweepstakes, but the best part has got to be the opportunity to do stuff to earn points to order books from the store.

How do I join?
All you have to do to join Random Buzzers is fill out a short form to ensure that you have a wicked username and meet the age requirements.

You mentioned points, how do I earn the so called points?
There's so much you can do to quickly earn points. They have quizzes, polls, and fun surveys for you to answer or you can submit stuff to gallerys. You can even complete easy activities like following them on Twitter to earn massive amounts of points!

What others stuff can I do on Random Buzzers?
You'll never be bored with Random Buzzers. You can join and comment on forums, review books, answer the Question of the Day, or even become an Ambuzzador like I did!

Keturah, you make Random Buzzers sound extravagant! I really wanna join, do you have a referral link?
Thanks so much for asking! As a matter of fact I do! Here it is------> INVITE. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Monday, February 20, 2012

Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey

Jill Jekel has always obeyed her parents rules; especially the one about never opening the mysterious, old box in her father's office. But when her dad is murdered, and her college savings disappear, she's tempted to peek inside, as the contents might be the key to a lucrative chemistry scholarship.

To improve her odds, Jill enlists the help of gorgeous, brooding Tristen Hyde, who has his own dark secrets locked away. As the team of Jekel and Hyde, they recreate experiments based on the classic novel, hoping not only to win a prize, but to save Tristen's sanity. Maybe his life. But Jill's accidental taste of a formula unleashes her darkest nature and compels her to risk everything, even Tristen's love just for the thrill of being . . . bad.

Glitter Text -

The first time I watched or saw anything relating to Jekel and Hyde was when I watched Alvin and the Chipmunks do a rendition of it. I loved that one, of course, they have cute voices, but overall the Jekel and Hyde story sounded a bit weak. I was a little girl then and I didn't think about it anymore. Skip ahead 7 years and I come across this book. I've heard the name, the plot sounds good, and it's written by an author I already know does good work. So I get it and I am not disappointed. Their name's are Jill Jekel and Tristen Hyde. Jill is quiet and keeps to herself, and really smart and I could relate to her. She spoke to me. Hearing her deal with her father's death and her mother's breakdown kills me. She was strong though, paying bills and helping crazy boys, making me love her even more.
     Tristen is sweet and arrogant. He's quiet, too, but in another way. He and Jill are each others missing puzzle piece. Jill has something that Tristen wants. The cure to his insanity. A science competition allows them the chance to bring back the Jekel-Hyde name and bring Tristen some piece. Tristen was so very tortured. His nightmares, his dad, being on the brink of insanity and destruction. It couldn't have been easy, but he didn't stop trying. He didn't want to be a monster. He tries to distance himself from Jill, but it's impossible. As they go down the trail to cure Tristen, they find a beautiful love and he finds the purest cure of all.

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Look Familiar?

Last Stand by Niki Burnham and Existence by Abbi Glines both have a familiar sexy face on them.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Review: Waterfall (River of Time, #1) by Lisa T. Bergen

 What do you do when your knight in shining armor lives, literally, in a different world?

Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives among the romantic hills with their archaelogist parents. Stuck among the rubble of the medieval castles in rural Tuscany, on yet another hot, dusty archaeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds...until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces.

Suddenly Gabi's summer in Italy is much, much more interesting.

Glitter Text - http://bubblegumbookreviews.blogspot.comWaterfall was a wonderful start to a great series. I had heard and seen a lot about this series and have been wanting to read it forever. Gabi had a nice voice that echoed in my ears when I read. Her entrance into the past was unexpected and thunderous, but she took to it well. Meeting Marcello after being dropped through time wasn't that bad either. He invites her into his home to rest, but Gabi really has to find her sister, Lia. She is not like any woman the men have met and even though she's in the past, she never becomes or plays a weak girl. I loved Marcello. He was a gentleman, but strong and forceful when it came the time. He was not shy at all and when he feels something between he and Gabi, he confronts her outright and tells her about himself. Though, the past isn't as easy as I make it sound and Gabi and Marcello must fight to be safely together. In the end, I was sad to turn the last page of this book and see Marcello and Gabi go, but am ecstatic to read the next books!

Monday, February 13, 2012

Review: Saving June by Hannah Harrington

    'If she’d waited less than two weeks, she’d be June who died in June. But I guess my sister didn’t consider that.’ Harper Scott’s older sister has always been the perfect one so when June takes her own life a week before her high school graduation, sixteen-year-old Harper is devastated. Everyone’s sorry, but no one can explain why.
    When her divorcing parents decide to split her sister’s ashes into his-and-her urns, Harper takes matters into her own hands. She’ll steal the ashes and drive cross-country with her best friend, Laney, to the one place June always dreamed of going California.
     Enter Jake Tolan. He’s a boy with a bad attitude, a classic-rock obsession and nothing in common with Harper’s sister. But Jake had a connection with June, and when he insists on joining them, Harper’s just desperate enough to let him. With his alternately charming and infuriating demeanour and his belief that music can see you through anything, he might be exactly what she needs.
     Except June wasn’t the only one hiding something. Jake’s keeping a secret that has the power to turn Harper’s life upside down again.

Glitter Text -     Saving June was so raw and wonderful. I can't fully explain it, but it, like, drowns you in beautiful things. Harper's sister has killed herself and left Harper behind to deal with her own feelings. harper is way bitter and tired of all the "I'm Sorries." Then at June's wake, she meets this boy with crazy hair and with her loyal friend Laney, they embark on a journey to truly save June.
    Harper's voice just spoke to me. She has hardcore and saw the world with no blinders. She was honest and stubborn and a really incredible character. Taking her sister's ashes was a brave action. It was the epitome of her personality.
    Jake was definitely my kind of boy. He knew his music and his candor and honestly is slightly awkward and really funny. His sweet moments with Harper helped her find herself and without him, the book wouldn't have been half as good. Everybody, go get saving June!

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Review: Something Witchy This Way Comes by Veronica Blade

     Brainiac Tessa McClean’s newly discovered magical powers give her an escape from her self-absorbed parents. But the thrill of being a witch fades when she learns of a rival coven and begins to suspect her own coven’s motives. Evidence tells Tessa to trust one side, but instinct drives her toward the other. When the school’s scrumptious delinquent, Hayden Anders, offers Tessa self-defense lessons in exchange for tutoring, his timing couldn’t be better. Although hanging out with him is a necessary evil in Tessa’s fight to stay alive, resisting a bad-boy she secretly yearns for might be more than she can manage. Together, Tessa and Hayden work to unravel the mysteries behind the two covens to discover why they’ll stop at nothing to lure Tessa to their side. She must form an alliance with one of the covens before it’s too late. But the wrong decision could cost Tessa the lives of all who she holds dear — including Hayden.
Glitter Text -

     Something Witchy This Way Comes is an awesome book about a strong-willed girl and her fierce battle with making the right decisions and coming out unscathed. With a hot, annoying boy who has problems of his own, her story was a heartbreaker.
    Tessa is the best, She grabbed my attention from the beginning. Her voice was animated and she just seemed good. As she battles with quickly learning that she is a witch and that people want her, she strengthens with the turn of each page. She is thrown obstacle after obstacle, her neglectful parents, her "newly dead" sister and the responsibility for her adorable little sister. She refuses to be down for too long.
    With Hayden, Tessa is invincible. He balances her out and is not at all what she expects. Her guarded heart slowly melts for him throughout the story. Tessa isn't afraid of fully influenced by Hayden's looks or charm. She is so honest and frank with him about her feeling and situation.
    Hayden is a GOD. There is no other word to describe him. He is hired to protect Tessa when she first finds out about her powers. He is a bit hesitant at first, but quickly warms up after seeing and meeting Tessa. Hayden's point-of-view is so personal and eye-opening. His feelings for Tessa are expressed in such a raw way. She continually refuses him. Reading his voice, desperate to have Tessa, is too sweet for words and just incredible.
    Something Witchy This Way Comes exceeded my expectations. It shot them out of the sky. With its courageous protagonist and sexy love interest to the kidnapping and smoldering kisses, SWTWC takes the cake and runs with it.*

*Thanks to Crush Publishing for providing this book for review.

Monday, February 6, 2012

Book Trailers: Yay or Nay?

Do you like book trailers? Could you have them or leave them? Or are you such a book trailer lover that you spend all your time searching the Internet for the trailers to your favorite upcoming book?

Keturah says.....
  ....that book trailers are alright. They are something to pass the time until the release of the wonderful book or something to give you visuals after reading the summary. I really hardly ever watch book trailers. I can't remember the last time I watched one.

What do you say? Do you like it if book trailers are in reviews?

Review: Choker by Elizabeth Woods

Sixteen-year-old Cara Lange has been a loner ever since she moved away from her best and only friend, Zoe, years ago. She eats lunch with the other girls from the track team, but they're not really her friends. Mostly she spends her time watching Ethan Gray from a distance, wishing he would finally notice her, and avoiding the popular girls who call her "Choker" after a humiliating incident in the cafeteria.

Then one day Cara comes home to find Zoe waiting for her. Zoe's on the run from problems at home, and Cara agrees to help her hide. With her best friend back, Cara's life changes overnight. Zoe gives her a new look and new confidence, and next thing she knows, she's getting invited to parties and flirting with Ethan. Best of all, she has her BFF there to confide in.

But just as quickly as Cara's life came together, it starts to unravel. A girl goes missing in her town, and everyone is a suspect—including Ethan. Worse still, Zoe starts behaving strangely, and Cara begins to wonder what exactly her friend does all day when she's at school. You're supposed to trust your best friend no matter what, but what if she turns into a total stranger?

Glitter Text -
     I just finished reading this book as I am typing this review and I am still surprised. Not "happy birthday!" surprised. But "Oh My God." surprised. I have never read a book like Choker before. Ever. It was actually the first book that scared me. I have never thought so much in my life.
Cara was a good character. Not necessarily someone you'd want to emulate, but the perfect girl for this book. She was lonely and so vulnerable. Honestly I don't really understand Choker at the moment. Was she or wasn't she? Did she or didn't she? I know this review is a huge bucket of ramblings, but just know that you need to read this book to truly understand. Also watch out for more by Elizabeth Woods, the woman is an artist.

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

ARC Review: Paradise by Jill S. Alexander

      Paisley Tillery is the drummer for a country rock band. If they can make it to the stage at the Texapalooza music fest, then Paisley will be closer to her dream of a career in music and a ticket out of her small Texas town. Drumming and music are what Paisley has always wanted. Until the band gets a new lead singer, the boy from Paradise, Texas. With Paradise in her life, what Paisley wants, and what she needs, complicate her dreams coming true.
Glitter Text -

           Paradise was not what I expected and that was definitely not a bad thing. Paisley is spunky and brave. She's funny and has a mixed personality: shy at times, but isn't afraid to speak her mind. Gabe is a Colombian, can't even describe how hot I think that is. He sweetly confident and forward with Paisley, which is exactly what she needs. However there is deeper message than the romance in Paradise. I think the message is to follow your dreams and as Paradise says, "Live wide open." Paisley and her sister, Lacey are intensely pressured by their mother. In their mother's eyes, she does what she does because she loves them, but at their second gig, surrounded by everyone else's family, Paisley never feels more alone.
      The ending of Paradise is so wonderful and fast. The sisters tell their mother everything and get to live their dreams. Paradise was such and inspiring story with wonderful supporting characters and love all around. I do admit that I don't listen to much country music, but with an accordion player like Paradise and friendships like Paisley's with Waylon and Levi, it could quickly become my favorite genre of music.
back to top