Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Teaser Tuesday: Awake At Dawn (Shadow Falls, #2) by C. C. Hunter

TEASER TUESDAYS asks you to:
Grab your current read.
Let the book fall open to a random page.
Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
Please avoid spoilers!
"She stopped in the clearing beside a tree and tried to catch her breathe, feeling completely winded from her run. She almost had her breathing back to normal when she saw Derek coming toward her. He wore only a pair of swim trunks ."

LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own “Teaser Tuesdays” post, or share your “teaser” in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Book News: Untraceable by S.R. Johannes

Untraceable by S.R. Johannes is coming out on November 29, 2011! Just in time to catch it on some Cyber Monday sales!

16 year old Grace was reared in the wilderness. Her first pet was a bear named Simon. Her first potty, an oak tree. And, her first swing, a forest vine. Grace has lived in the Smokies her whole life, patrolling with her forest ranger father who taught her everything he knew about wildlife, tracking, and wilderness survival. But when Grace's dad goes missing on a routine patrol, unlike everyone in her sleepy mountain town, she refuses to believe he’s dead. When a Cheetos bag and stolen government file materialize, Grace is convinced she’s one step closer to proving all the non-believers wrong.
Then one day while out tracking clues, Grace is rescued from imminent danger by Mo, a hot guy with an intoxicating accent, that’s definitely not from her neck of the woods, and a secret. Grace has never felt a connection like this before, certainly not with her ex-boyfriend, the adoring, but decidedly unrugged Wyn. 
Now with renewed confidence, Grace travels deeper into the wilderness that has always been her refuge only to learn that her father's disappearance is not a mere coincidence. Soon she’s enmeshed in a web of conspiracy, deception, and murder. And it’s going to take a lot more than a compass and a motorcycle (named Lucifer) for this kickass heroine to emerge from an epidemic that’s spreading like wild fire, threatening everything and everyone she’s ever loved.
I think the summary sounds way interesting and definitely made me add it to my Goodreads!

Check Out Untraceable Elsewhere!

Review: Keturah And Lord Death by Martine Leavitt

"I will tell you . . . a story of magic and love, of daring and death, and one to comfort your heart. It will be the truest story I have ever told. Now listen, and tell me if it is not so."

After following a hart into the woods bordering her town, Keturah is faced with Death. Lost and hungry after following a stately hart through the forest, Keturah encounters Lord Death, who is ready to take her. Like Scheherazade, Keturah spins a story that she leaves unfinished and extracts from Lord Death a promise that if she finds her true love in a day, she can go free. Thus begins Keturah's search for her one true love and the salvation of her beloved town. But Lord Death is falling in love with her, and as the villagers begin to sense her alliance with this horrifying figure, her life twists and turns on itself.

Martine Leavitt offers a spellbinding story, interweaving elements of classic fantasy and high romance. The romance is intense, the writing is startling, and the story is spellbinding--and it is as difficult to turn away from as the tales beautiful Keturah tells to the people of her village, Tide-by-Rood.

     At my newly discovered high school library, I found this book. I have been looking for this book every where! It has me in it! Really, me, Keturah, am the star! Honestly that might not sound like much, but My name is awfully hard to find. I used to run over to the racks in store that had key chains with names on them...only to be sorely disappointed when I never found Keturah. Then I Googled my name and this book was the first entry. Finding it in the place I least expected it was a Godsend.
     It is based in the past and Keturah get lost in a forest and meets Death. She makes a lot of deals with him to spare herself from death and her town from plague. She tries every man in her town with an eyeball (read the book) to see if they are her true love. The story was fun and sad and sooo suspenseful. Keturah was a nice girl, exceptionally beautiful, but who wasn't dealt the best hand. She has many admirers in the town to look at, but none of them seem to be a match. It was suspenseful because they would not tell me who her love was. Every time I thought I had it, It slipped through my hands. When her true love was revealed, I was pleasantly surprised and happy. I read Keturah and Lord Death fairly quickly and enjoyed every bit of it. Please go read it!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Guest Post: New Options for Readers by Tahlia Newland

New options for readers

Today we have a guest post by Tahlia Newland. She writes young adult/adult urban fantasy with a touch or more of romance in it and a focus on challenging readers’ perception of reality.  A Matter of Perception, her anthology of urban fantasy & magical realism stories, is available on ebook. ‘Realm Hunter,’ a Diamond Peak novella, will be released in December.

The event of ereaders is revolutionizing the publishing industry, but not only is it giving authors new opportunities, it is doing the same for readers.

Once you have your ereader you can:
  • Buy books for as little as 99c and get many for free
  • Have access to thousands of books that your local bookstore (if you still have one) could never carry.
  • Buy a book instantly without leaving your home
  • Carry thousands of books in a device that weighs less than an average sized book
  • Have a book collection larger than the size of your shelf space
  • Via independent publishing, have access to books that are too different or otherwise too hard to promote ( eg cross genre or written by someone unknown) to be published by a publishing company. Often these are the most interesting books.
  • Have access to books of all different lengths (e.g. short stories and novellas)

Short Stories
The beauty of short stories is that they are straight to the point, snappy and without frills. A good short story is highly engaging and has a powerful ending, often with a twist or a moral point.

They are perfect for today’s world, especially for young people with little money and many demands on their time, because they are low price and time commitment.
A good anthology of short stories has a linking theme that provides a sense of continuity with each story adding to an overall flavour that makes the book a satisfying whole.
One reader said of my short story collection, ‘A Matter of Perception’, “These were five-for-five keeping me engaged from start to finish. A very pleasurable read, and what makes it such an interesting collection is that it provides such a variety in tone and supernatural elements yet is held together, yes, by that common supernatural denominator but also such thought-provoking philosophies of life.”

NovellasNovellas are usually around 20,000 to 30,000 words and can be read in 2 or three hours. They were unprofitable to publish in print but work well in ebook form, hence we are seeing a large number of novellas, especially from indie authors. Since they take less time to write, an author can charge less for them making them attractive to readers, and their length makes them a very real option to watching a movie
The serialized novel.Serialized fiction was big in Charles Dickens and Authur Conan Doyle’s time when books were expensive, so the stories were published in a more affordable magazine format in easily digestible chunks that suited the newly literate working class with little time for such indulgences. It created fiction that didn’t take the readers commitment to the story for granted, hence there was plenty of dramatic tension to keep you reading. One segment always ended with a hook to lead you into the next one, something to keep you wondering. Why is this form returning?
At the moment it’s only happening in the indie publishing world where a lot of authors are pricing books at 99c. This is not enough money for an author to have any chance of making a profit, but if the competition is setting their prices so low, you have to deal with it. So, you charge 99c for 3 or 4 installments of one novel. It makes economic sense for the author and makes it easier for the reader to decide if they want to purchase the whole thing.

Most indie authors will have something priced at 99c for you to try to see if you like the author enough to buy longer works. This is the sort of thing that economics makes us do, but the reader wins with cheap prices and more options.

Would you buy a book in serial form or would you rather pay more and get the whole thing at once?

Do you see what I see? Take a bunch of supernatural beings, a battle of magical light, a mysterious hole in the pavement, a dream of a future past and a pair of rose-coloured glasses, mix them with a little romance and a smidgen of philosophy and you might be left wondering if it isn’t all just a matter of perception. This thought-provoking collection of urban fantasy and magical realism stories includes ‘The Drorgon Slayer’s Choice’ and ‘The Boneyard’, a semi finalist in the Aussiecon 4 Make Ready fantasy/scfi competition of 2010.

Are you willing to stake your future on a butterfly’s shampoo preferences? Julia’s not sure. She knows that relationships made in heaven can end up in hell, but if she can avoid having her memory wiped, she just might end up with a god of her own.

Author links 

Monday, November 21, 2011

It's Monday, What Are You Reading? (11/23/11)


Listverse.com's Ultimate Book of Bizarre Lists by Jamie Frater

Currently Reading

Next In Line
What are you reading?

Review: Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer

     Jamie Edwards has loved everything about growing up on a pumpkin patch, but ever since her cousin Milan Woods arrived, things have really stunk. Jamie can’t imagine it was easy for Milan to leave her life back in Los Angeles and move to Average, Illinois, population one thousand. But it’s kind of hard to feel sorry for her since (a) Milan’s drop-dead gorgeous; (b) she’s the daughter of two of Hollywood’s hottest film stars; (c) she’s captured the attention of everyone in town, including Danny, Jamie’s crush since forever; and (d) she’s about to steal the title of Pumpkin Princess right out from underneath Jamie! (Goodreads)

JUST YOUR AVERAGE PRINCESS was average. There was nothing about it for me that made it to die for. Jamie is a bit neurotic. I liked her at the beginning because she seemed like a good person who was going to have a good story. Her cousin Milan came into the picture and Jamie went haywire. I understand that Milan was really mean, but hey, let her be! Jamie obsessed over Milan, what she was doing, what she was wearing, and how she interacted with a guy Jamie liked but wasn't even dating! She tries to make everyone stop liking Milan by exposing that the reason she had to move to Average is because she made a sex tape. Something goes wrong with that and then Jamie doesn't even confess and decides to just sudden;y leave Milan alone. I liked the ending, I guess, they became friends...... But their friendship was still based on lies! 

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

ARC Review: Amplified by Tara Kelly

     When privileged 17-year-old Jasmine gets kicked out of her house, she takes what is left of her savings and flees to Santa Cruz to pursue her dream of becoming a musician. Jasmine finds the ideal room in an oceanfront house, but she needs to convince the three guys living there that she's the perfect roommate and lead guitarist for their band, C-Side. Too bad she has major stage fright and the cute bassist doesn't think a spoiled girl from over the hill can hack it. . .
     In this fresh new novel by critically acclaimed author Tara Kelly, Jasmine finds out what happens when her life gets Amplified. (Goodreads)

     I can't even describe how much I intensely loved Amplified! Jasmine was the best female lead character. She had an awesome voice and went out determined to follow her dreams despite her father's nonexistent support. Her entrance onto the scene was unforgettable. Her car stops outside an auto shop and she doesn't even notice! LOL In comes Sean, *dreamy sigh* even though he is such a jerk in the beginning. His heart has been broken by his previous girlfriend and he is a bit apprehensive at the time. Coincidentally, *wink wink* Sean is also Veta's brother, who is a member of C-Side, the band Jasmine is destined to be in!
     When the band started popping up, I knew I was instantly going to like everyone! I thought it would be awkward for Jasmine, staying in a house full of boys, but she handled it well. Through awful, embarrassing stage fright, unfeeling phone calls from her dad, and troubles with Sean, in every situation she goes for what she wants and stands her ground. Just when it seems like she's down, she pops up again and I fell in love with her for it.

P.S. The songs in Amplified are awesome, even just in my head! I think I like "Puppet Girl" the best!

Monday, November 14, 2011

Review: Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey

Violet Willoughby doesn't believe in ghosts. But they believe in her. After spending years participating in her mother's elaborate ruse as a fraudulent medium, Violet is about as skeptical as they come in all matters supernatural. Now that she is being visited by a very persistent ghost, one who suffered a violent death, Violet can no longer ignore her unique ability. She must figure out what this ghost is trying to communicate, and quickly because the killer is still on the loose.

Afraid of ruining her chance to escape her mother's scheming through an advantageous marriage, Violet must keep her ability secret. The only person who can help her is Colin, a friend she's known since childhood, and whom she has grown to love. He understands the true Violet, but helping her on this path means they might never be together. Can Violet find a way to help this ghost without ruining her own chance at a future free of lies? (Goodreads)

    Haunting Violet was another excellent book that exhibited Alyxandra's wonderful talents. It was a bit slow at first, but faired out quite fast. Violet was great main character that I had so much sympathy for. Her motehr treated her so badly, but still she continued on. I love the irony of Violet having powers and not her fraud, evil mother. I was like, "Hah, take that evil mother!"
   Violet had a lovely love interest: Colin Lennox. He was snarky and sweet to Violet and spontaneous and fun. He stuck with her throughout everything with her horrible mother. I think I would did if I ever heard his beautiful accent.
    Haunting Violet was a Book to rival Blood Feuds. It kept me laughing, smiling, giggling. In the end, justice was served and sadly the book was over.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (1)

E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation … do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits? If you don’t have one, do you plan to?

I do have an E-reader, an iPad actually, although I do not use it as an E-reader. I don't like ebooks. I usually say that my excuse is because  the screen makes my eyes hurt....But this just in, that is what I do on the computer all day and I feel fine everytime. So I will say that I am a hands-on person and I feel like touching and feeling the books make me more in tune and makes the reading more personal to me.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Haunting Violet Reading Fair Board

I’ve been doing reading fair for a long time. My whole school life. This year I did my board on Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey. I thought I’d show you guys some pictures! Here they are….


Display in the front of board


The actual board

The reading fair was today and they’re announcing the winners tomorrow and then the winner will go to a district competition. I went to state last year, but I have lost more times than won. I complain every year that participation is mandatory, but I secretly love doing these things! Tell me how you like it!

Monday, November 7, 2011

Review: Chasing Boys by Karen Tayleur

An insightful coming-of-age novel for girls with no interest in being “Pretty in Pink”.El Marini just isn’t fitting into the new life she’s been forced to create without her dad. Her mom and sister have accepted his absence and moved on, but El is convinced things will get back to normal if she just keeps her feelings of loss to herself and waits it out. Life at her new public school would have been unbearable if weren’t for Eric Callahan. As her crush grows to epic proportions, she’ll do anything to be more like the popular girls he notices, even buying the first pink top she’s ever owned. But then she meets Dylan, a quiet artistic-type who is both unnerving and annoying as he shines a light on El’s misguided attempts to attract Eric. El’s need for acceptance will hit home with teens as she finally sees that chasing boys has distracted her from making peace with the past and finding herself. (Goodreads)

Format: Hardback

Pages: 244
Publisher: Walker & Company

Plot: Ariel Marini. Her dad has not been around for about a year now and she is just getting used to not going to private school. She has two best friends and together they are the three amigos. They are so different, but so alike, except El Marini wants only one thing: Eric Callahan. Beautiful, angel boyfriend to Angelique Mendez. In detention, she meets Dylan and her first impression of him is bored, macho and thick. When she and Dylan get paired in a project, she finds that he is annoying....and she likes it. While she finds Dylan annoying, she also befriends Angelique and finds out that Eric was never who she thought.

Characters: Ariel had me hooked, literally, from the first page and 2:00 in the morning. It was chapter 40 before I went to bed. In the summary it says that El starts to be one of the girls that wears black all the time and I can tell. From the beginning of the book, she has this thin monotone voice that is just right for a calm night read. I found my feelings back and forth on El because she was so hypocritical and most of the time I felt sorry for her being so confused.
     For a book that has a title that hints to a lot of boys, strangely there are little boy introductions. Eric is the boy El thinks that she wants and anytime she talks to her, he is very charming, but fake. Other times he acted like a horrible jerk. I could already tell that he was not a candidate for happily ever after.
     Dylan is Eric's cousin and Blair High School's newest student. In detention, he doesn't make the best impression on El and he is instantly put on the back burner. When El starts to get to know him, she finds out more. He is incredibly sweet, a good counter, and an incredible artist. In a few short meetings, he becomes my favorite and El's too.

Overview: Chasing Boys is extremely misleading and should be called, "What Shouldn't Happen When You Chase Boys?" I didn't have the romance I was expecting, which is why I disliked the ending, but it is an inspiring story for me and my friends when we start to date

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

What Book Am I Most Grateful For?

Beth Revis is having an awesome giveaway where ONE winner can win NINETEEN total books! I mean, NINETEEN! I nearly cried! Everyone should enter to win this fantastic prize. Even if you don't win, it gives you a chance to reflect on a wondrous book that changed your life. But.....I Really Want To Win!!! Who doesn't? Go enter HERE!

Book I Am Most Grateful For
  The book that I am most grateful for is Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. If you are an avid visitor to my blog, you know that I talk about Twilight ALOT! It was an awesome book that I read several times a year still. I think my gratefulness to Twilight isn't really because it was Twilight. I was because it gave me my love and enjoyment back. Okay, there's a story coming!
     Understand that I was 11 or so, when I saw Twilight and read the books. I have always been mature and ahead emotionally and mentally of my peers. I was a nerd and always studying. I am an only child and it get lonely sometimes. I thought that I was the only one who was going through what I went through. I thought that there was nothing I could do, but do work and hope it payed off. Twilight gave me a hobby that I love and gave me confidence. It started a domino reaction and it was a catalyst. I needed all the books I could get my hands on! I had made the greatest discovery of all: I Am Not Alone. The rest is history.
back to top